Meet Preview: 2022 Saltillo XC Invitational (Small School)

High School Boys Individual Preview

2021 champion: Gabe McElwain (Walnut High School) | 18:00

Course record: Landen Mcnair (Bartlett High School) | 15:14

No. 1 seed: Chandler Ray (Falkner High School) | 16:03

The Rundown:

The Individual race at the small school section of the 2022 Saltillo XC Invitational boils down to these two athletes: Gabe McElwain of Walnut High School and Chandler Ray of Falkner High School

Two members on the All-MileSplit Mississippi XC team, McElwain is the defending champion, while Ray is the No. 1 seed. 

Recently, both runners are also coming off of wins - McElwain won the 2022 Hickory Flat XC Invitational, while Ray won the 2022 Mooreville XC Invitational. 

RESULTS: 2022 Mooreville XC Invitational - Varsity Boys 5K

Ray is undefeated this year, taking high-caliber wins at Mooreville and the 2022 Tennessee River Classic. 

RESULTS: 2022 Tennessee River Classic - Small School Boys 5K

McElwain's only Mississippi loss was Oak Grove's Bennett Ferguson at The Opener, where he ran 16:13 for 5K. 

RESULTS: The Opener - Varsity Boys 5K

State Editor's pick: We can't stress how good McElwain and Ray have looked fantastic early in the season. 

However, to keep it short, Ray outkicked debatably one of the best kickers in Mississippi in Parker Shannon at the 2022 Mooreville XC Invitational. 

McElwain has been good, but we think Ray might be able to hang on and outkick McElwain and stay undefeated. 

We are a big fan of McElwain, though, and he will not make it easy for Ray.