Meet Preview: 2022 South Pontotoc XC Invitational

High School Boys Preview 

*Parker Shannon winning the 2022 TCPS Twilight

Photo credits: Chris Bell

The seed-time favorite is Saltillo's, Parker Shannon.

The All-Milesplit Mississippi No. 7 runner boasts a PR of 16:03. Shannon's competition resume is one of the best in the state. Through five meets, the junior has never placed outside the top three individual spots. This is extremely impressive, considering the depth of competition in these races. 

With two wins so far, one of which being the ultra-competitive 2022 Saltillo Cross Country Invitational, Shannon will be eager to add another to his name.

Next up is Giles Jones of Starkville.

*Giles Jones (828) at the 2022 Tupelo XC Invitational

Photo credits: Chris Bell

Jones has put on a show so far the season, as he has run well under 17 minutes in two of his three races this season. After competing against them in every race this fall, he is very familiar with Shannon and the rest of the Saltillo boys. 

At this meet last year, it came down to the wire with a Saltillo runner versus a Starkville runner. It is very possible that could happen again on Saturday.

Jace Stanley has the third fastest season-best heading into this race. Stanley has had a great start to the season, with his past three performances under 17 minutes.

We expect to see another week of Shannon, Jones, and Stanley pushing the pace from the front.

Other runners who will certainly be vying for a top-five finish are Lukas Dykes, Enoch Caviness, Caiden Ivy, and Jackson Kelly. All of these runners have hit 5k times in the under 17 minutes this season.

State Editor's Pick: There is a rumor that the boys of Saltillo might not take this meet at an all-out effort and pack run. If that is the case, there is no one else in the field that can challenge Giles Jones of Starkville. 

However, Parker Shannon is the only All-MileSplit Mississippi team member in this field, and he has proven he deserves to be on that list. If he decides to go all-out, and then we'll go with Shannon for the win.