Dylan Allen, Mooreville MS Gartorade XC Athlete of the Year

Contact: Kelsey Rhoney (312-729- 3685)
In its 33rd year of honoring the nation's best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company, today announced Dylan Allen of Mooreville High School as its 2017-18 Gatorade Mississippi Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. Allen is the first Gatorade Mississippi Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year to be chosen from Mooreville High School.
The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Allen as Mississippi's best high school boys cross country runner. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year award to be announced in January, Allen joins an elite alumni association of past state award-winners in 12 sports, including Lukas Verzbicas (2010-11, 2009- 10 Carl Sandburg, Orland Park, Ill.), Megan Goethals (2009-10, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Mich.), Jordan Hasay (2008-09, Mission College Prep., San Luis Obispo, Calif.), Donn Cabral (2007-08, Glastonbury High School, Glastonbury, Conn.) and Chris Derrick (2007-08, Neuqua Valley, Naperville, Ill.).
The 5-foot-8, 135-pound junior broke the tape MHSAA Class 4A State Championships this past season with a time of 16:27.86, leading the Troopers to a fourth-place as a team. A three-time All-State selection, Allen also took second at the Foot Locker South Regional championships Varsity B race in 16:07.70. Beating seven of the state's top 10 fastest prep boys over the course of three races in an eight-day stretch, he clocked the state's fastest 5K of 2017 (15:39.22) at the Region 2, 4A championships.
An active member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Allen serves on his school's student council. "Dylan is one of the most dedicated, hardworking athletes I've ever been associated with," said Mooreville head coach Jeff Tally. "He's a great leader and he pushes his teammates to do better." Allen has maintained an 88.9 average in the classroom. He will begin his senior year of high school this fall.
The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.
Allen joins Gatorade Mississippi Boys Cross Country Runners of the Year Giacomo DeLuca III (2016-17, George County High School), David Patton Little (2015-16, Starkville High School), Curt Knight (2014-15 & 2013-14, Jackson Academy), Will Murphey (2012-13, Oak Grove High School), Jordan Travis (2011-12, Poplarville High School), Chad Moore (2010-11, Oak Grove High School), and Max Holman (2009-10, 2008-09 & 2007-08, Tupelo High School) as athletes who have won the cross country award since its inception in 2007. As a Gatorade Player of the Year, Allen will be able to select a national or local youth sports organization to receive a grant as part of the Gatorade Play It Forward program. Every Gatorade Player of the Year state winner receives a $1,000 grant to donate and will have the opportunity to enter for an additional $10,000 spotlight grant by writing a brief essay explaining why their selected organization deserves additional support. 12 spotlight grants - one for each sport - will be announced throughout the year. To keep up to date on the latest happenings, become a fan of Gatorade Player of the Year on Facebook and follow the conversation on Twitter #GatoradePOY. For more on the Gatorade Player of the Year program, including nomination information, a complete list of past winners and the announcement of the Gatorade National Player of the Year, visit http://playeroftheyear.gatorade.com/.